The FIFA World Cup is a sporting event, for the game of soccer, that is held every 4 years and lasts for 5 weeks. It is played the senior men’s national teams. Every World Cup is hosted in a different country, for example the 2018 Word Cup was hosted by Russia. All countries need to go through a qualification round, and at the end, there are 32 countries that make it to the World Cup.


Jules Rimet was the main person to organize the first FIFA World Cup. He was the 3rd and longest-serving president of FIFA serving from 1921 to 1954, for 33 years. The first ever World Cup was held in 1930, with Uruguay being the first team to win the trophy. But due to World War II, there was no World Cup in 1942 and 1946.

Interesting Facts and Stats

  • Brazil have won the most trophies (1958, 1962, 1970, 1994, 2002)
  • Germany have reach the final 8 times, which is more then any other country (1954, 1966, 1974, 1982, 1986, 1990, 2002, 2014)
  • Brazil also hold the record of most World Cup appearances with 21 (every tournament)
  • Italy and Brazil are the only two countries to have won two consecutive championships (Italy: 1934, 1938 and Brazil: 1958, 1962)
  • The Netherlands have been to the finals 3 times (1974, 1978, 2010), but have never won the championship
  • Lothar Matthäus (Germany, 1982–1998) has played 25 matches, which is more then any other player
  • Norman Whiteside (Northern Ireland) was the youngest player, to have ever played in a World Cup match, at the age of 17 years, 41 days, vs Yugoslavia, 17 June 1982
  • Pelé (Brazil) was the youngest player, to have ever played in the final match, at the age of 17 years, 249 days, vs Sweden, 29 June 1958
  • Essam El-Hadary (Egypt) was oldest player, to have ever played in a World Cup match, at the age of 45 years, 161 days, vs Saudi Arabia, 25 June 2018
  • Miroslav Klose (Germany, 2002–2014) has scored the most goals at the World Cup; 16 goals
  • Lucien Laurent (France) was the first goalscorer, of any World Cup game, vs Mexico, 13 July 1930
  • Pelé (Brazil) was the youngest goalscorer, at the age of 17 years, 239 days, vs Wales, 19 June 1958
  • Roger Milla (Cameroon) was the oldest goalscorer, at the age of 42 years, 39 days, vs Russia, 28 June 1994
  • Alexandro Del Piero (Italy) scored the latest goal ever, in extra time at 120+1min, vs Germany, 04 July 2006

FIFA World Cup Champions

1930 Uruguay
1934 Italy
1938 Italy
1950 Uruguay
1954 Germany Fr
1958 Brazil
1962 Brazil
1966 England
1970 Brazil
1974 Germany Fr
1978 Argentina
1982 Italy
1986 Argentina
1990 Germany Fr
1994 Brazil
1998 France
2002 Brazil
2006 Italy
2010 Spain
2014 Germany
2018 France